Drawings/Illustrations

//Drawings/Illustrations

Coming Soon: Attack of the 14-Year-Old Black Girl

2016-11-29T17:39:12-04:00

Coming soon from McKinney, Texas Police Productions, it’s the next summer horror science fiction cop flick, Attack of the 14-Year-Old Black Girl! A frightening teen girl in a bikini terrorizes the police force of a small Texas suburb, making them respond with excessive force and [...]

Why America’s Higher Education Needs Reform

2016-11-29T17:39:14-04:00

The Walnut Bowl draws comics at www.thewalnutbowl.com | Follow Walnut Bowl @thewalnutbowl This piece was reprinted by EmpathyEducates with permission or license. We thank the Illustrator, Cartoonist Walnut Bowl. We are grateful for his kindness and for broaching what remains hidden; there is a need [...]

Tips and Tricks for New College Students

2016-11-29T17:39:22-04:00

Jen Sorensen is a nationally-syndicated political cartoonist whose work has appeared in The Progressive, The Nation, Daily Kos, Austin Chronicle, NPR, Ms., Politico, and many other publications. The recipient of the 2014 Herblock Prize and a 2013 Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award, she tweets at [...]

John Lewis’ Moving Graphic Novel Brings the Civil Rights Struggle to a New Generation

2016-11-29T17:39:28-04:00

In the tradition of “Maus” and “Persepolis,” “March” tells the story of young African Americans who, like its author, rose up from the Jim Crow South to assert their human rights. By Valerie Schloredt | Originally Published at Yes! Magazine. March 06, 2014 Selma, Alabama, March [...]

Stride Toward Freedom: The Montgomery Story (1958)

2016-11-29T17:39:37-04:00

Fifty years later, we are still inspired by the work and words of Reverend Doctor Martin Luther King Junior. However, as frequently occurs, in time, a mirage remains, the actual memory is morphed. The struggle continues, but sadly lessons are lost. So, as begin to stride for [...]